Subic volunteers honored for ‘showing the way forward’


Service and excellence on the job took center stage here as the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority (SBMA) honored volunteers, employees and stakeholders during the agency’s simple 28th founding anniversary ceremony last Tuesday.

In his speech at the Volunteers Park here during the Nov. 24 anniversary celebration, SBMA Senior Deputy Administrator for Operations Marcelino Sanqui paid tribute to the more than 8,000 workers who served without pay in the early days of Subic and also recognized those who worked in the Freeport thereafter.
Sanqui spoke on behalf of SBMA Chairman and Administrator Wilma T. Eisma, who was not at the event but had issued her “anniversary salute” earlier. Eisma thanked volunteers “for showing the way forward”, SBMA employees “for service beyond self”, and Subic stakeholders “for keeping faith even in these trying times.”

Sanqui, who was among the pioneer SBMA volunteers like Eisma, said the being a volunteer “entailed sacrifices, but also provided unexpected heart-warming rewards—the feeling of pride and fulfilment.”
“We are here today to honor the volunteers and all the people, who in one way or another contributed in bringing this institution to where it is right now,” Sanqui said. “These include our frontliners, health workers, and fire fighters who until this moment are helping to rescue those affected by the recent typhoon, and all of you who provide continued public services during this time of pandemic,” he added.

In the same occasion, SBMA Senior Deputy Administrator for Support Services Ramon Agregado turned over a copy of the Workplace Handbook on Covid-19 Management and Prevention to business locators in the Freeport.
Philippine Coastal Storage and Pipeline Corporation (PCSPC) president and CEO David Attewill received the handbook, and expressed pride “that our people in Subic put safety first.”
At the same time, the SBMA recognized 15 employees who were cited by their respective strategic business unit (SBU) as employees of the year for 2019, honor titles that were not awarded early in February because of the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The SBU winners in Category 1 (contractual service) were: Nenita R. Sarmiento of Business and Investment Group; Ronald C. Fonseca, Chairperson and Administrator’s Group; Jose O. Madayag, Jr., Operations Group; Jonathan N. Labrador, Public Services Group; Jocelyn L. Gustilo, Regulatory Group; Mark Genesis G. Medina, Support Services Group; Jacklord Joseph J. Oceña, Support Services Group; and Louie P. Sarno of Public Services Group, who also bagged the overall title for this category.

Meawhile, the awardees in Category 2 (permanent position) were: Amabelle Lynn F. Saclao of Business and Investment Group; Dante M. Salvaña, Chairperson and Administrator’s Group; Engr. Gerald P. Mendoza, Public Services Group; Ellenor O. Bautista, Regulatory Group; Joy Q. Manalang, Support Services Group; and Rolando L. Cepeda of Operations Group and Lina P. Sarmiento of Support Services Group, who tied for first place in this category.
The outstanding employees were cited for their excellent performance beyond the call of duty and for various innovations in the workplace.

The SBMA Labor Department also conducted an online job fair while the Public Health and Safety Group organized a bloodletting drive on November 24 as part of the agency’s 28th anniversary celebration.

Red Cross’ ‘Amazing Grace’ sails to Catanduanes

Previous article


Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

More in News